OFFICIAL MINUTES OF THE REGULAR MEETING OF THE OTTO-ELDRED BOARD OF EDUCATION

A brief executive session was held prior to the regular meeting.

The regular meeting of the Otto-Eldred Board of Education was held in the Otto-Eldred Elementary Tech Center on Monday, December 6, 2022, at 6:32p.m. The meeting was called to order by Vice President, Cynthia Murphy.

The meeting began with everyone present saying the Pledge of Allegiance.

PRESENT:

BOARD MEMBERS: Lance Baker, Lisa Beaver, Robert De Long, Jeannine Gray, Marlene Lang, Cynthia Murphy, Elizabeth Murphy, Jolene Schuessler

ABSENT: Matthew Windsor

ADMINISTRATION: Matthew D. Splain, Superintendent; Nicholas J. LaBella, High School Principal; Lindsay Burns, Director of Student Services/Special Education; Nicole Garthwaite, Elementary Principal; Jodi L. Flexman, Business Manager/Board Secretary

ABSENT: None

FACULTY/STAFF: Katie Jo Barrett, Brandon Witmer

VISITORS: Wanda Stebbins

REPORTERS: None

Temporary Chairperson Motion: It was moved by Lisa Beaver, seconded by

Lance Baker, to approve the nomination of Jeannine Gray, as the Temporary Chairperson for the purpose of electing a board president. All

present voted yes.

Nomination for President Motion: It was moved by Elizabeth Murphy,

seconded by Lisa Beaver, to nominate Ms. Cynthia Murphy as Board President for the calendar year of

2023. All present voted yes.

Nomination for President

Closed

Motion: It was moved by Elizabeth Murphy, seconded by Lisa Beaver, to close nominations for the office of president. All present voted yes.

Nomination for Vice President

Motion: It was moved by Lisa Beaver, seconded by Elizabeth Murphy, to nominate Ms. Jeannine Gray, as Board Vice President for the calendar year of 2023. All present voted yes.

Nomination for Vice President Closed

Motion: It was moved by Lisa Beaver, seconded by Elizabeth Murphy, to close nominations for the office of vice president. All present voted yes.

Meeting Dates, Times, and Locations

Motion: It was moved by Elizabeth Murphy, seconded by Lance Baker, to approve the list of Board meeting dates as discussed. All present voted yes.

The Board of Education appointed Cynthia Murphy to serve as the Board's legislative representative for the 2023 calendar year.

The Board of Education appointed Cynthia Murphy to serve as the Board's PSBA representative for the 2023 calendar year.

The Board of Education appointed Suzanne Strait to serve as the Board's Employee Relations Contact with PSBA for the 2023 calendar year.

At this time, the board provided time for public comment. No public comment was given.

Minutes

Motion: It was moved by Jeannine Gray, seconded by Lisa Beaver, to approve minutes of the regular meeting held on Tuesday, November 15, 2022. All present voted yes.

There was no schedule of accounts, athletic fund report, cafeteria report, treasurer's report, or bill list available due to the early date of the meeting.

Bill List

Motion: It was moved by Jeannine Gray, seconded by Lisa Beaver, to approve Mrs. Flexman's request to pay bills on December 13, 2022, and present the bill list at the January 2023, Board meeting. All present voted yes.

Mrs. Garthwaite relayed that teacher professional development is still focusing on the new math series and the SEW team. The elementary had a Kindergarten and 6th grade feast and Sweet Treats with Santa. Both events were very successful.

Mrs. Garthwaite and Mr. LaBella attended the Next Generation Science Standards training on November 29th & 30th. The standards will be fully integrated into instruction by the 2025-2026 school year.

Mr. LaBella stated that there have been several college acceptance letters coming in, and most of the sophomores and a few others took the ASVAB exams. He commented on the student talents of the national anthem performances, OE Beatz, cheerleaders, and basketball players. There will be FFA State Officers visiting the district on December 9, 2022, to provide various training for students involved with the Ag Ed program.

Mrs. Burns provided a brief update on enrollment, winter keystone testing, remediation sessions for students, and PSTAT training. She also presented PSSA results in comparison with the state averages in several grade levels.

Mr. Splain gave a quick update on some grants in process, tax credit for first responders, and building updates. He also asked the board members to attend a financial audit meeting in December. The date is TBD.

Policies updates were presented for the first reading.

Supplemental

Motion: It was moved by Jeannine Gray, seconded by Elizabeth Murphy, to approve the following for supplemental positions:

Assistant Jr. High Boys B-ball: JT Magro

Sub Game Manager (Winter): Michelle McNett,

Bryan O'Neil

Sub Clock Keeper (Winter): Michelle McNett House Manager (Winter/Spring): Cole Palmer Ticket Taker (Winter/Spring): Amy Coffman

All present voted yes.

Tax Collector Committee Voting Delegate

Motion: It was moved by Jeannine Gray, seconded by Marlene Lang, to approve Mrs. Jodi L. Flexman as the Tax Collection Committee Voting Delegate for the district. All present voted yes.

Tax Collector Committee Alternate Voting Delegate

Motion: It was moved by Jeannine Gray, seconded by Lisa Beaver, to approve Mr. Matthew Splain as the Tax Collection Committee Alternate Voting Delegate for the district. All present voted yes.

School Board Agreement

Motion: It was moved by Lisa Beaver, seconded by Marlene Lang, to approve the following: The Board of Directors of the Otto-Eldred School District hereby APPROVES the Settlement Resolution Agreement and General Release regarding a minor student referred to as "K.S.," a copy of which document is incorporated into this Resolution is if fully set forth herein. The Board authorizes the

Superintendent to execute the Settlement Resolution Agreement and General Release on behalf of the district. All present voted yes, except for Jeannine Gray, who abstained.

School Board Agreement

Motion: It was moved by Marlene Lang, seconded by Lisa Beaver, to approve Mr. Splain's contract that is set to expire on June 30, 2023, for an additional term of three to five years. All present voted yes.

Agenda Addition

Motion: It was moved by Lisa Beaver, seconded by Marlene Lang, to add an item to the agenda. All present voted yes.

School Board Agreement

Moton: It was moved by Lisa Beaver, seconded by Elizabeth Murphy, to approve Conrad Siegel to perform the required ACA reporting for 2022, at a cost of \$3500. All present voted yes.

School Safety

Motion: It was moved by Jeannine Gray, seconded by Lisa Beaver, to approve the MOU with local police and an agreement for SRO services with Otto Township Police Department. All present voted yes.

Adjournment

Motion: It was moved by Lance Baker, seconded by Lisa Beaver, to adjourn at 7:15 PM into an executive session. All present voted yes.

The executive session ended at 7:31 pm. No voting occurred.

Respectfully submitted,

Jodi L. Flexman

Business Manager/Board Secretary